The new season of The Poker Stars Twitter Poker League has begun.  And, for the second week in a row, I have managed to cash in both tournaments.  A min cash, but a cash just the same.

While I’m happy to get the points and mostly happy with the way I have been playing, I would be much happier to finish much higher.

One of the things I’ve been trying is to be more aggressive as the tournament nears the bubble.   Now I’m not going to be a maniac and raise every hand, just try and push some of the smaller stacks out of pots, steals some blinds, you get the idea

But, at what point does this become too much of a gamble? Does playing to win mean risking not cashing?

Here is one hand that has stuck in my craw a little bit. We were about 30 spots away from the bubble, I raise from middle position with AJ off. BB re-raises all in. If I call, I still have around 3K left. (Earlier, the guy called all his chips off to me on a paired flop with AQ with me holding AK The board paired again and the luckbox survived with a split pot.) I figured I was a coinflip at best, perhaps I was easily dominated, so I adjusted my skirt, and folded.

PokerStars No-Limit Hold’em, 1.1 Tournament, 200/400 Blinds 50 Ante (9 handed) – PokerStars Hand Converter from HandHistoryConverter.com

BB (t3292)
UTG (t23206)
UTG+1 (t5626)
MP1 (t5762)
Hero (MP2) (t6620)
MP3 (t10774)
CO (t4449)
Button (t3575)
SB (t4375)

Hero’s M: 6.30

Preflop: Hero is MP2 with A, J
3 folds, Hero bets t1200, 4 folds, BB raises to t3242 (All-In), 1 fold

Total pot: t3050

What would you have done in this situation?
 

